Summary of 51st Biennial Convention of the Michigan Professional Fire Fighters Union

The 51st Biennial Convention of the Michigan Professional Fire Fighters Union was held on May 7-8-9, 2014 at the Park Place Hotel, in Traverse City, Michigan.

One hundred and eighty-seven (187) delegates, thirty-seven (37) alternates, and eighty (86) guests, vendors, and speakers attended the Convention. The delegates represented sixty-nine (69) locals. In addition, seven (7) locals were represented by proxy.

Shaun Abbey, MPFFU Second District Vice President, served as master of ceremonies for the opening session. The **Traverse City Fire Department Honor Guard** opened the convention with the presentation of colors. **Zandra Gavaldon** sang the National Anthem. The bagpiper was **Steve McNeil**, sponsored by Henderson's Imports LTD. Deacon **Tom Bousamra** gave the invocation.

Delegates took action on **22 Resolutions**. They adopted twenty resolutions and rejected two resolutions.

Two resolutions that were adopted will increase the monthly per capita on **July 1, 2014**. The per capita tax increases associated with these two resolutions will **sunset on June 30, 2016**.

\$0.06 – Appointment of an Ad-hoc Committee to review MPFFU organization and structure \$0.05 – Appointment of an Ad-Hoc Committee to research health care options for retirees

A CPI increase of \$0.20 is also scheduled to take place on July 1, 2014.

On July 1, 2014, the MPFFU monthly per capita will increase to \$13.71. The current MPFFU monthly per capita is \$13.40.

Delegates approved a resolution to invite the members of IAFF locals in Waterford, Detroit, and Independence Twp. to rejoin the Michigan Professional Fire Fighters Union. They also adopted a resolution that would forgive any past due per capita or assessments these locals may owe the MPFFU.

Delegates adopted a resolution that encourages locals that are involved in mergers of their departments to establish a single seniority list by using the hire date of all employees as a way of determining the classifications to assign to each member.

Delegates also approved a resolution to give guidance and direction to firefighter candidates running for state office if they wish to seek the endorsement of the MPFFU or other fire fighter locals.

Delegates adopted a resolution to endorse Mark Schauer for Governor.

Delegates approved resolutions that would officially declare Huron Valley Ambulance Company and its affiliates and Medstar Ambulance Company as rival organizations of the MPFFU.

Delegates adopted a resolution giving **Joseph A. Grutza** Lifetime Membership Status in the MPFFU. Brother Grutza is a former officer of Local 2701-Trenton and has served as 4th District Vice President of the MPFFU. Brother Grutza is currently the Director of Training for the Fire Fighters Training Council.

Delegates adopted a resolution that encourages all locals to be active participants in the delivery of pre and post hospital care (Community Paramedicine) and, if necessary, consider utilizing the MPFFU EMS Committee to assist them with their efforts.

Delegates adopted a resolution to support an increase in pay for IAFF District Vice Presidents.

Delegates adopted a resolution to support the rebuilding of the IAFF Fallen Fire Fighter Memorial.

Delegates adopted a resolution to endorse **Gary Peters** for the United States Senate.

A resolution was also adopted that will require the MPFFU Secretary-Treasurer to obtain bids from a minimum of three locations for all future conventions. Locals will still be permitted to submit bids as well.

Elections were held for two-year terms for all MPFFU Executive Board and Trustee positions. The following individuals were elected by acclamation:

• President: Mark Docherty

• Secretary-Treasurer: **Terrence Chesney**

• 1st/3rd District VP: **Chris Reynolds**

• 2nd District VP: Shaun Abbey

• 4th District VP: **Steven Heim**

• 5th District VP: James Leve

Western Trustee: David Weisenberg

• Northern Trustee: Aileen Pettinger

Delegates in the 6th District voted for the contested position of Sixth District Vice President. The result of that election was:

54– **Matthew Sahr** 20 – Daniel Dawe

Delegates in the 4th & 6th Districts voted for the contested position of Eastern Trustee. The result of that election was:

105 – **Edward Hosmer** 32 – Timothy Manning

Dearborn and Lansing submitted bids to host the 2016 MPFFU Convention. Both of these locals made brief presentations to the delegates about their meeting sites and their City.

Delegates from all districts voted to determine the site of the 52nd Biennial MPFFU Convention. The result of that election was:

120 - Dearborn, 87 - Lansing

The 52nd Biennial Convention will be held at the Adoba Hotel in Dearborn on **May 4-5-6, 2016.**

Delegates also heard the remarks and presentations of several guest speakers throughout the course of the convention:

- Mark Docherty, President Michigan Professional Fire Fighters Union
- Harold Schaitberger, General President IAFF
- Thomas Miller, General Secretary-Treasurer IAFF
- Paul Hufnagel, 8th District Vice President IAFF
- Mark Schauer, Democratic Michigan Gubernatorial Candidate
- Lon Johnson, Chairman of the Michigan Democratic Party
- Michael O'Hearon, MPFFU General Counsel
- Melissa Yutzey, Kelley-Cawthorne
- Chad Rueckert, President of Local 646 Traverse City Fire Fighters
- James Tuller Fire Chief, Traverse City Fire Department and former Local Union President
- Ross Richardson, Commissioner, City of Traverse City
- Rob Baciqalupi, Traverse City DDA
- Richard Miller, State Fire Marshal & Director-Bureau of Fire Services
- Leon LaBrecque, LaBrecque, Jackson, Price, & Roehl, LLC

Governor William Milliken was in attendance and he was recognized for signing PA 312.

A Golden Boot presentation was made to **Monty Nye** to recognize his years of dedication to the labor movement and his years of work with the Muscular Dystrophy Association.

Sixty-four **(64) MPFFU local union leaders** served on various Convention Committees which played an integral role in making this Convention a great success.

Delegates recognized the attendance and contributions of MPFFU President Emeriti Daniel Delegato, Gary Thomas, Larry McColl, and Paul Hufnagel. Lifetime members Steven Swenor, Gary Wiens, Ed Rigley, and James Amar were also recognized.

Delegates adopted a resolution recognizing Local 646-Traverse City for hosting the convention and thanked them for their hard work and hospitality.

The MPFFU Convention Staff of Michelle Chesney, Laura Jensen, Darcy O'Such, and Ed Rigley worked diligently behind the scenes to make sure everything got done in a professional and timely fashion.

A complete verbatim transcript of the entire convention will soon be file at the MPFFU Office and it will be available for review upon request.