Summary of 52nd Biennial Convention of the Michigan Professional Fire Fighters Union

The 52nd Biennial Convention of the Michigan Professional Fire Fighters Union was held on May 3-4-5, 2016 at the Edward Village Hotel, in Dearborn, Michigan.

Two hundred and two (202) delegates, forty-three (43) alternates, and seventy (70) guests, vendors, and speakers attended the Convention. The delegates represented seventy-one (71) locals. In addition, four (4) locals were represented by proxy.

David Weisenberg, MPFFU Western Trustee, served as master of ceremonies for the opening session. The **Dearborn Fire Department Honor Guard** opened the convention with the presentation of colors. **Sarah Sherrard** sang the National Anthem. The bagpiper was **Ian Kushnir**. **Father James Bilot**, from Divine Child Catholic Church gave the invocation. The **Dearborn High School Choir** sang the National Anthem on the second day of the convention.

Delegates took action on twenty-six **(26) Resolutions**. They adopted twenty-five **(25)** resolutions and rejected one **(1)** resolution. One additional resolution was withdrawn by its sponsor.

Four of the resolutions that were adopted will increase the monthly per capita **by twenty-two cents (\$0.22)**. The per capita tax increases associated with three of these resolutions will **sunset on June 30, 2018 (\$0.18)**.

- *\$0.02 Appointment of an Ad-hoc Committee to review MPFFU organization and structure
- *\$0.06 Appointment of a MPFFU Communications Coordinator
- *\$0.10 Appointment of an MPFFU Education and Training Coordinator
- \$0.04 Creation of MPFFU Scholarship to WSU Labor School

A CPI increase of \$0.09 is also scheduled to take place on July 1, 2014.

On June 30, 2016, eleven cents (\$0.11) of per capita is scheduled to sunset, therefore effective July 1, 2016, the MPFFU monthly per capita will be \$14.02.

Delegates adopted resolutions giving **W. James Leve, David Weisenberg, and Edward Hosmer** Lifetime Membership Status in the MPFFU.

Delegates adopted a resolution making **Thomas Miller** an Honorary Member of the Michigan Professional Fire Fighters Union.

Delegates adopted a resolution endorsing **Harold Schaitberger** for IAFF General President. Delegates adopted a resolution endorsing **Edward Kelly** for IAFF General Secretary-Treasurer. Delegates adopted a resolution endorsing **Mark Sanders** for IAFF 8th District Vice President. Delegates adopted a resolution endorsing **Mark Ouellette** for IAFF Eastern Trustee.

Elections were held for two-year terms for all MPFFU Executive Board and Trustee positions.

The following individuals were elected by acclamation:

President: Mark Docherty

Secretary-Treasurer: Terrence Chesney
1st/3rd District VP: Christopher Reynolds

2nd District VP: Shaun Abbey
4th District VP: Steven Heim
5th District VP: Monty Nye
Western Trustee: Richard Clark
Northern Trustee: Aileen Pettinger
Eastern Trustee: Mickey Wiewiura

Bids to host the 2018 MPFFU Convention were received from the Radisson Hotel Lansing, the Hyatt Place at the Suburban Collection Showcase in Novi, the Sheraton Detroit-Metro Airport in Romulus, and the Doubletree by Hilton Bay City-Riverfront. Each of these hotels made presentations to the delegates about their meeting sites and their City.

Delegates from all districts voted to determine the site of the 53rd Biennial MPFFU Convention in 2018 and they overwhelmingly choose the Doubletree by Hilton Bay City-Riverfront. The results of the vote were as follows:

157-Bay City 19-Lansing 5-Romulus 2-Novi

The 53rd Biennial Convention will be held in Bay City on May 8-9-10, 2018.

Delegates also heard the remarks and presentations of several guest speakers throughout the course of the convention:

- Mark Docherty, President Michigan Professional Fire Fighters Union
- Harold Schaitberger, General President IAFF
- Thomas Miller, General Secretary-Treasurer IAFF
- Paul Hufnagel, 8th District Vice President IAFF
- Mark Sanders, Candidate for IAFF 8th District Vice President
- Edward Kelly, Candidate for IAFF General Secretary-Treasurer
- Michael O'Hearon, MPFFU General Counsel
- Melissa Yutzey, Kelley-Cawthorne Consulting
- Jeffrey Lentz, President of Local 412 Dearborn Fire Fighters
- Leon LaBrecque, LaBrecque, Jackson, Price, & Roehl, LLC
- Carrie Tucker, IAFF Financial Corporation
- Diane VanEck, Labor Liason for Blue Cross Blue Shield & Blue Care Network
- Kenny Hansmire, National Child ID Program

Friend of Firefighters Awards were presented to:

- WXYZ TV
- NPR Radio
- Senator Tory Rocca
- Senator Curtis Hertel, Jr.

MPFFU PSO Committee Chairman **Monty Nye**, presented an overview of the new PSO website which was developed to provide a source of accurate information to the general public and elected officials on the dangerous consequences of the PSO concept.

Phil Hall, Scott Halleck, Gary Purdom, and other members of the **MPFFU Political Education Committee** signed up over 50 new members to the monthly MPFFU FIRE PAC program. **Local 1355-Dearborn Heights** donated several gift incentives for those participating in this program.

In addition, members also contributed more than \$3500 to the MPFFU FIRE PAC fund by purchasing tickets for the **50-50** raffles conducted by **Edward Rigley** and by purchasing MPFFU apparel at the MPFFU store operated by **Darcy O'Such** and **Laura Jensen**.

Monty Nye, MPFFU Liaison to MDA introduced MDA Representatives Christi Bishop-Divisional Director, Jacquelen Timm-Executive Director, and Kari Bolak-Fundraising Coordinator. They made a presentation to MPFFU President Mark Docherty to recognize the continuing support of the MPFFU Executive Board to the Muscular Dystrophy Association. MDA Michigan State Goodwill Ambassador Jessica Hetzel and her mother Kristi thanked everyone for their support of the Muscular Dystrophy Association. A moment of silence was observed for Dennis Rodeman.

Sixty-eight **(68) MPFFU local union leaders** served on five Convention Committees that played an integral role in making this Convention a great success.

Delegates recognized the attendance and contributions of MPFFU President Emeriti Daniel Delegato, Gary Thomas, Larry McColl, and Paul Hufnagel. Lifetime members Gary Wiens, Ed Rigley, James Amar, and Joseph Grutza were also present and recognized.

Delegates adopted a resolution recognizing **Local 412-Dearborn** for hosting the convention and thanked them for their hard work and hospitality.

The MPFFU Convention Staff of Michelle Chesney, Laura Jensen, Darcy O'Such, and Ed Rigley worked diligently behind the scenes to make sure everything got done in a professional and timely fashion.

The entire staff at **Edward Village Hotel** was extremely friendly and helpful and they all worked very hard to make our stay a great experience.

A complete verbatim transcript of the entire convention will be available for review on the MPFFU website.